My Professional Identity

In our lecture this week, we were asked to think about where I see myself in 5-10 years, of course, I began to stress. The creative industries is such a competitive and constantly changing field that trying to find work in it is almost impossible sometimes. So after stressing for a minute or so about how i’ll never find work in the area I love and remain a waitress for the entirety of my career, I step back and think about what I actually want.

22892a5690aeb3b289a8a077ed234ae2.jpg

I want to direct films. I want to create things so beautiful and mesmerising that people can’t help but talk about them afterwards. I want to create films that suck people in and make them think about them for days, weeks and months. I want people to know the films and know them for a reason.

This is my plan. Unfortunately, the road getting there is not going to be easy. Like I said previously, this industry is tough. There is no easy way to get where I want to be and one of my main concerns is that i’ll never actually get there, no matter how hard I try. When this negative thinking sets upon me, I always take a glass of wine and sit down and watch, ‘He Died with a Felafel in his Hand’.  This is an Australian film based off the novel by John Birmingham. This movie has such an incredible influence on me. To have such a unique and clever movie made by Australians is rare. I never feel more motivated or inspired after watching this film. That’s because, while making this, they didn’t make it because they knew it’d make a ton of money. It’s not a very well know film and because it’s Australian made, not many people outside of Australia know of it.

853full-he-died-with-a-felafel-in-his-hand-screenshot.png

They made this film because they loved the ideas and they knew they could make something really special. They knew that it’d affect at least one person if not more and that’s all they really wanted. That’s what separates it from so many like it. They made this film, because they love what they do and they want to keep doing it.

Picture-115.png

The only way to survive in the creative industries, is to love what you do and love it with all that you are. Steve Jobs, an iconic technology entrepreneur said,

“You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.” Steve Jobs (2005)

This quote is so relevant to what I’ve been talking about because he really loved what he did and through that love, he developed his career. That’s how I plan on becoming a director. By loving what I do and never letting that love go. By constantly learning and networking i’ll be able to hopefully give myself a leg up in terms of money and production costs, but having a heart full of film is what will really define my success and my professional identity.

Citations

Lowenstein, R. (Director). (2001). He Died with a Felafel in his Hand [Motion picture]. Australia: Fandango.
9. (n.d.). Where do you see yourself? Retrieved June 09, 2016, from https://au.pinterest.com/pin/470133648577752295/
Radparvar, D., & Radparvar, M. (n.d.). The Holstee Manifesto. Retrieved June 09, 2016, from https://www.holstee.com/pages/manifesto

Leave a comment