Curation

Our online personas are based around what we share, like and repost. These can influence our creative identities or our professional ones. Luckily, my creative and professional identity are pretty much the same.

Using the creative platform, Pinterest, I curated content that i believe represents my creative identity and my professional one. As a filmmaker, my content is largely based around what i want to see and what i like to see on screen.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 12.57.56 PM.png

My first board is about symmetry. Films like, ‘A Moonrise Kingdom‘,  ‘The Royal Tenembaums‘, ‘Amélie‘ and ‘Léon: The Professional‘ use symmetry as a cinematography device. Not only are the shots pleasing to look at, they also create balance within a film full of chaos.

My second board is about colour schemes.  In films like, ‘Crimson Peak‘, ‘Sin City‘, ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin‘ and ‘American Beauty‘ colour is used to tell more of the story, without explicitly telling the audience.

My third board is about the movement, German Expressionism. This board focuses more on artwork and the architecture within the artwork. German Expressionism is still used today in film as many filmmakers take inspiration from the movement. 

My final board is simply, atheistically pleasing shots. They’re the kind of films you see and think back about how beautifully they were framed and edited together to enhance the story.

My Pinterest boards are what i turn to when i’m stuck and need inspiration, or the things i send to people when i’m trying to explain an idea but can only show what i truly mean by a collection of pictures. They help my creative identity explain itself.

 

Leave a comment